After deleting a record* SalesForce always seems to return to the main list. So if you delete a contact you end up at /003/o instead of at the account.
But it makes more sense in many cases to end up where you started which was typically the master record. Or, in cases where you have no master-detail relationship but just a lookup you want to guide the user back to the parent record.
What's the best way to send the user back to the parent record?
* UPDATE: From the detail page of the record being deleted