2

I created a new Remote Site so I could make callouts to an API. I deleted it for testing, and when I tried to add it again, it said,

"This Remote Site Name already exists or has been previously used. Please choose a different name."

Does this mean you can never create a remote site with the same name as one that has long been deleted? Is there some kind of waiting period before I can use that name again, or is it gone forever? I would really like to use the original name.

1

Many "managed" components in a "managed package" become a permanent part of the package's metadata once uploaded in a release version. You can delete the item later, but you can never reuse its name. You will need to use a different name, or recover it from the Deleted Items section of your package (the docs say this should work, but I've never used it successfully).

  • I have never uploaded a release version though, only beta. I checked the Deleted Components section just in case, and it's empty. – Neo Jun 30 '15 at 17:11
  • Actually, thinking about it, that's probably correct. I don't think it's possible to reclaim a used Remote Site name at all if it's ever been uploaded. I've never had to try, I only know what's in the docs. – sfdcfox Jun 30 '15 at 17:17
  • That's unfortunate. I wish it would have warned me before I deleted it that I would never be able to use that name again. – Neo Jun 30 '15 at 17:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.