We have an org that we are moving from
Communities Welcome E-Mail is sent to all user accounts when their user/account is created:
From the Communities > Administration > Emails
Welcome emails are sent once the community is activated, and then whenever a member is added.
These accounts are dictated by which 'Profiles' are added to the available communities, and I accidently added the wrong profile and saved, thus causing a huge amount of user records to be created with a bad Email template!
After I hit save, there is no "Confirmation" of what is happening except you cannot add/remove profiles for a few minutes while the user records are being moved, and the E-Mails are being generated!
Is there anyway avoid having this happened? A confirmation setting before Salesforce sends this HUGE e-mail blast?
A quote from a co-worker about the procedure to follow in this scenario
If profile is added to Community AFTER it is active and has Send Welcome Email checked, an email goes out to everyone in that profile (possibly if they haven't already been in another portal, unclear). If we put the profiles into the Community when it's activated but with Send Welcome Email Unchecked, THEN check the box after the profiles are in no email is sent per my testing.