There is no way to identify where all places any Public Group created is used in Salesforce.com.
The public group can be used at -
- Sharing Rules
- Record Sharing
- List Views
- Other Public Groups (nested)
- Report Folders access
- Document Folder access
- Library sharing
But this is strange to me that I can delete the public group from the Salesforce.com instance which is in use; say in "Sharing Setting"! And the effect of this is that the Sharing setting entry also gets deleted without informing me!
Is there any way with which I can check what all the places specific public group is used and think of alternate option and then delete the public group from Salesforce.com?