0

I'm trying to understand how syncing of advertising audiences works in Ad Studio. In this situation, there is a single ad audience with a data extension as the source. Here are two scenarios:

Data Extension Overwrite

  1. Customer ABC is added to the data extension, and therefore the ad audience
  2. Ad audience syncs to facebook and google and customer ABC gets matched
  3. I perform an overwrite of the data extension and customer ABC is not longer in the ad audience

Data Extension with Individual Record Retention Period

  1. Customer ABC is added to the data extension, and therefore the ad audience
  2. Data Extension has a retention period for individual records set for 10 days
  3. 10 days passes and customer ABC is removed from the data extension

Outcome?

In both of the above cases, once customer ABC is removed from the data extension, what happens in the detinations (eg: facebook, google, etc)? Does customer ABC also get removed from the audiences there?

  • Yes, but not from the moment the contact is deleted from the data extension, but actually when the audience is refreshed in ad studio. And audiences can be refreshed daily and not more often than that. – Javier De Mauri Nov 19 at 12:08
  • Thanks Javier. Can I ask how you know this? Is it documented somewhere? – Ben Nov 19 at 21:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.