When you enable
UserPreferencesUserDebugModePref on a User, s/he will be running lightning components in debug mode.
The only difference I could perceive is that (more) console warns are printed. Per Docs the code should also be minified but I don't see this happening. I am confused.
What does Lightning Debug Mode exactly do?