When you enable UserPreferencesUserDebugModePref on a User, s/he will be running lightning components in debug mode.

The only difference I could perceive is that (more) console warns are printed. Per Docs the code should also be minified but I don't see this happening. I am confused.

What does Lightning Debug Mode exactly do?

up vote 8 down vote accepted

The answer is: I misunderstood the docs plain and simply.

Optimization and minification are performed on framework code only. Custom component code is NOT minified or obfuscated.

https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.lightning.meta/lightning/aura_debug_mode.htm?search_text=debug (Above the yellow boxes)

Kudos @DanielBallinger

  • 1
    Also note that disabling debug mode supresses some common lightning component errors, sort of like production mode in a JavaScript application. – Raul Nov 13 at 18:20

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.