3

Opportunity Fields > "Field Label/name" > Set Field-Level Security >

What is Visible vs Read OnLy?

A Google Search Revealed: Visible : If you check the "Visible" checkbox, that field will be visible to that profile. User can read & edit that field

Read-Only: If you check the "Read-Only" checkbox, that field will be read only for the users of that profile. User can only see that field, he can't edit. Field must be Visible to be Read-Only

^That confuses me...

I want The profile to only be able to see The field; Not Edit it. But I can't Select "Read Only" Unless I select "Visible" But "visable" allows them to edit it.

  • Please try to apply tags which indicate the features your question is related to. Your question appears to have nothing to do with the Salesforce Communities feature, so I removed the [community] tag and added some that make more sense. – Adrian Larson Aug 31 '18 at 16:51
5

The hierarchy of permissions shown in this particular facet of the Salesforce UI is a bit backwards compared to the way we usually talk about permissions. Most of the time, when talking about CRUD/FLS permissions, we understand that there are four different rights at the object level, where Read < Update < Create < Delete, and two at the field level, where Read < Edit. We also always talk about permissions as additive; we don't use the permissions system to take away rights.

In this specific context (as well as in the custom field creation wizard and the properties dialogue for fields shown on a page layout), it works the other way. "Read Only" is an extra layer on the basic "Visible"; "Visible" means Read and Update permission; and "Read Only" removes the Edit facet. This is backwards relative to the FLS editor within a user profile, although it still records the actual permissions the same way under the hood.

In your use case, you should check both boxes.

  • 1
    Also even if you have Visible permission , you still won't be able to edit it as that field might be locked at page layout level. – Pranay Jaiswal Aug 31 '18 at 17:12
  • 1
    Historically, it used to be Visible and Editable, but I suspect they changed it because just because it's Editable at the profile level doesn't mean the layout can't override it. The read-only nomenclature makes it clear that you're making it read-only regardless of other conditions. – sfdcfox Aug 31 '18 at 17:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.