25

I recently installed the latest version of Eclipse (eclipse-java-kepler-R, 2.0.1.20130919-0803) with the Force.com IDE plugin (29.0.0.201310181333). Everything was working fine until this morning, when it had lost the credentials for the project I was working on.

I could re-enter the password and security token, the plugin connected to Salesforce, but as soon as I closed the Force.com IDE settings on the project and re-opened it, the credentials were gone.

Logging into Salesforce, and going to the Login History of my account, I saw the plugin connecting just fine.

How can I get it to start storing the passwords again?

  • I haven't worked on the Salesforce platform in a long time, but it amazes me that this question and answer still get upvotes over 5 years after I wrote them. How has this bug remained in Eclipse or Salesforce plugins for so long?! – tomlogic Apr 25 at 6:34
45

I found a solution. I had to go into the Eclipse preferences and delete the values in "Secure Storage".

  1. Select the Window/Preferences item.

  2. Go to General/Security/Secure Storage.

  3. Select the Contents tab.

  4. Select Force Projects and then click the Delete button.

After restarting, Force.com IDE was able to save my passwords again.

  • Eclipse was doing this to me earlier, so I switched to Mavens Mate.. Oh well – EricSSH Jun 19 '14 at 16:49
  • 2
    Awesome answer, probably saved me half a day of hunting around, trying different things, thanks. – Brad Thomas Jun 26 '15 at 19:21
  • 3
    Brilliant! If I could give you more than 1 upvote, I would – cropredy Dec 8 '15 at 19:48
4

I ended up doing something similar but a little different to resolve the issue. I'm listing the steps I followed here in case any other Mac users are seeing this issue after making keychain changes:

Earlier this afternoon I reset the login keychain on my Mac; when I later went to refresh files in the Force.com IDE, I found that my Force.com project passwords were no longer being stored. I started to follow @tomlogic's instructions, but when I got to the General/Security/Secure Storage section, I noticed on the Password tab that there was a value "OS X Keystore Integration" that was prioritized the highest in the "Master password providers" list. I unchecked this and was then asked to enter a master password - something I had never been asked to do before. I entered it and saved, and everything seems back to normal now.

protected by Community Jun 19 '14 at 18:34

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.