When a Community User forgets their Password and uses the Forgot Your Password link and inputs their username they are sent a Password Reset Link via email.
If the customers email goes through a link scanner that checks links in their emails for malware or virus' etc. this link expires and when the user clicks on it they are sent to the same Forgot Your Password page that they originally used to request the Password Reset Link.
The Password Reset Link they receive is in the following format:
In order to get the Customer a link so they can reset their password we can send them a password reset link by clicking on the Reset Password Button on the User record for their Community User.
Sending them a Password Reset link using this method sends them a link in the following format:
This link does not expire until the link is actually used to reset the password or 24 hours whichever comes first. The email link scanner does not expire this link and I am even able to click on the link and not reset the password and still use this link another time and successfully get to the reset password page.
I have tried this using both the default SFDC reset password pages for a Community and using a custom Visualforce page that uses the forgotPassword() method to send the reset link email to the customer. Both of these options send the Customer the same formatted link as described above.
Is this a bug or expected behavior?
Is there anyway I can send a link in the same format that SFDC is sending when using the Reset Password Button found on the User record?