Take the 2-minute tour ×
Salesforce Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Salesforce administrators, implementation experts, developers and anybody in-between. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I opened a visualforce page and its related controller class in Edit mode inside Salesforce UI. I made several changes and used Quick Save to save it. But i never used Save button in that my logged in session. This happened yesterday. Now, today i opened and happened to see all the changes have been rolled back to previous version.

Is there any difference between Quick Save and Save just like hard delete and soft delete?

Please anybody suggest which tag i should use for this question. i added salesforce-crm and i know it is not correct.

share|improve this question
    
I'd say the setup tag is more appropriate. –  Samuel De Rycke Apr 29 at 9:43
    
Thanks @SamuelDeRycke. I will edit now. –  Baskaran S Apr 29 at 9:49
    
when you make save the system submit the code and return the page detail of the class/page, while Quick save submit the code and let you to continue editing your class/page The code is saved if are not present errors. Have you seen which is the last modified date of the class/page? @BaskaranS –  Klodj_Tema Apr 29 at 10:32

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

The Salesforce documentation here does not indicate any difference.

Click Save to save your changes and return to the Visualforce detail screen, or click Quick Save to save your changes and continue editing your page. Your Visualforce markup must be valid before you can save your page.

One theory might be, if you used the back button at any time, the content of the in page editor may be resent to previous edits and perhaps posted back. This is just theory though I have not tested it.

Generally using the Back or Refresh sometimes can cause problems in web apps as the browsers attempt to repost (though typically you get a prompt for this). If you have not done either of these things, I'm not sure what might have caused this? Another developer editing at the same time perhaps?

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Andrew. I would try the scenarios which you mentioned and get back to you. –  Baskaran S Apr 29 at 10:23
1  
I can confirm that going back in history can often cause you to view the older version of the code. This has actually saved me more than once after I made a fatal edit. That said, I almost exclusively use something that is far easier to verify saved changes and retain history: Force.com IDE and Git. –  sfdcfox Apr 29 at 11:55

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.